Chief Nursing Officer’s (CNO) learning disability nursing enhanced Continuing Professional Development (CPD) scheme

LD project

About the project

We are aiming to establish three post-qualification awards, developed in a modular structure, with a clear clinical skill focus, accessible to learners from any area of the country irrespective of geographical location.

We have outlined the clinical practice areas that have been chosen by those as identified by both the profession and people with lived experience of learning disability and/or autism. These three award areas include Specialist Inpatient, Primary and Acute Care Liaison, and Community, Forensic and Intensive Support. 

These post-qualification awards will demonstrate the practitioner’s specialised capability against nationally recognised standards. Additionally, having a nationally recognised standard and accreditation will provide assurance to employers of the practitioner capability, and standard of skill set.

A pilot of these awards will be set to launch soon.

If you would like to find out more or get involved then please email Emily M. Lee at

Get In Touch!

Contact Us

Email us