Race and equity group

The race and equity student/trainee group offers an opportunity for students to meet and support each other and to share experiences as students who are concerned with and interested in issues relating to culture, race and ethnicity in a predominantly white organisation.

Course administrators

It aims to empower all students and trainees to engage with these issues and to voice their experiences and thoughts. The Group also functions as a channel for communication and feed-back between students/trainees and the Department of Education and Training. The Trust is keenly aware of the need to train mental health professionals from a diversity of backgrounds and of the need to listen to its current students and trainees from both minority and majority backgrounds in order to do this well.

The group was originally aimed exclusively at students and trainees from black and minority ethnic communities. However, on request by the students and trainees themselves, the group has, now for a number of years, been open to all students and trainees. The meetings take place on different days in the week monthly in order to enable as many students and trainees as possible to be able to access the group without disruption to their studies and working lives. Past activities include film showings, discussions, reading as well as reflections about the Trust as a place of learning in relation to contemporary mental health practice in a multi-cultural society.

Meeting times and locations

October 2017

Monday 23rd October 1-2pm: Studio A
Friday 27th October 1-2pm: Studio A

November 2017

Monday 20th November 1-2pm: Studio A
Friday 24th November  1-2pm: Studio A

December 2017

Monday 11th December 1-2pm: Studio A
Friday 15th  December 1-2pm: Studio A

January 2018

Monday 22nd January 1-2pm: Studio A
Friday 26th January 1-2pm: Seminar Room 1

February 2018

Monday 19th February 1-2pm: Studio A
Friday 23rd February 1-2pm: Studio A

March 2018

Monday 19th March 1-2pm: Studio A
Friday 23rd March 1-2pm: Seminar Room 2

April 2018

Monday 23rd April 1-2pm: Studio A
Friday 27th April 1-2pm: Studio A

May 2018

Monday 21st May 1-2pm: To be announced
Friday 25th May 1-2pm: To be announced

Share this page

Contact:

Britt Krause 

Race and equality group chair